Review Bråvalla: Muse

Five long years.
It has been five fucking years. 
In 2010 it was "Unforseen circumstances". I waited.
In 2012 it was a broken foot just days before the show (Wich due to recent events I no longer approve as a reason to cancel a gig). I reluctantly waited. 
 
My relationship with Muse has been extremely abusive. I get shut down again and again, my trust broken and thrown in the mud. But I always crawl back, like a heroin addict after a rehab session. I just can't stay away. Not even when only minutes stood between me and the band of my dreams, I couldnt believe it. With five minutes left before the british trio were to step out on stage, a man from the crew stepped out with a mic. My heart dropped faster than a rock. This was it. The cancellation message. How could I have fallen for it again. 

Turns out, it was just a crew member doing some carrying work. After five years, my inner fangirl could finally satisfy her needs. 
 
The brits long awaited album Drones was released just weeks ago and I have been religoulusly listened to it since. The album is far from the strongest when it comes to individual tracks but it creates a storyline throughout the length of it that speaks to me. Taking a step back in time to the earlier tracks of the band, the dubstep has been dropped in favor of the pure essence that Muse used to be. For better or for worse is yet to say, but the gig at Bråvalla would shut up most critics.The band held the headline spot for the friday, weirdly enough getting pushed to the second biggest stage in favor of Robbie Williams on the main stage. Dont get me wrong, Mister Williams had one hell of a show that requred tha bigger stage, but Muse on the main stage would have lifted the show to astronomical proportions. 

From the first note I was completelu sucked into the world of Muse. From the opening track of Psycho with the Drill sergant controlling the masses with commands, to the wet fuzz dream that is Plug In Baby, I am not really aware of what is going on around me. The setlist is magnificent, and the band has clearly been around for long enough to be able to never really have to have a dip in power on stage. Absolutions Apocalypse Please might be the expection, as I could feel a bit of a drop going down as the younger fans in the audience failed to recognise the piece. 
 
If anything should be said that is not colored by my rosetinted glasses, it would be how absolutely horrible Matt Bellamy is at talking between songs. His "Tack så mycket"-flirts with the audience, works but only so far. If any other act would be on stage, I would probably have cringed a lot harder than I did. But what Muse has that many other bands lack, is a massive availability in the setlist. 
And when the harmonica intro for Knights of Cydonia echoes through the light raing falling over Bråvalla I can't help but feel a shiver down my spine. The confetti and giant balloons are gone and I feel at ease. Rain is nothing right now, I couldnt care less. This is just me and my favourite band, going for one final dance of the night.
My wait is finally over. And I am happier than ever. 
 
 
 
 



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

RSS 2.0