Review Bråvalla: Kent

When I was younger I despised Kent. Complete and utter hate.
There was absolutely nothing that could make me listen to them instead of my precious teenage pleassures Green Day and Metallica (Don't judge, we've all been there, its a phase okay.). As with most things back in those days though, I had never really given it a proper listen. My brain had just taken the position of a stubborn 5 year old testing his limits. That 5 year old has been the bane of many great endeavours in my life.

It took almost 19 years of my life before I finally started aknowledging Kents existance. And it felt like a punch in the face and a stab in me stomach at the same time. Because Kent is not a nice experience in the sense that it is clean and polished pop-rock. It is a nostalgic and painful explosion. And I love it. 
 
With the sun setting over the fields of Bråvalla, the conditions were perfect. My expectations were through the roof and up into the blue sky, amped up by not only the music of the band but also my friends mantra of how great of a live band Kent are. I was ready for something magical. 

And it is good. Even great at times. For an hour and a half I sing along to every song. It is a emotional rollercoaster through the highs and lows of life. It is a polished and tight production, and it should be considering the 20 years the band has been in existance. 

You all know whats coming here. Every great storyline needs a but. Nothing is perfect, and the things that are are just boring. 
 
(So) But, I can't help but feel that there is something missing. Musically everything sounds perfect, and lead singer Joakim Berg does his best to keep the show going. But there is something missing in the eyes of the band. For moments it looks like they would rather be somewhere else. Considering that this was the bands only gig in Sweden for the year, I was expecting a explosive show. And even if it is good, and I never feel like I am bored, when walking away into the rest of the evening I cant shake the feeling that it could have been so much more.
 
 
 



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

RSS 2.0